Skip to content
Texas Christian University
Search events. View events.
Display Format:  All Categories
TCU Calendar of Events
Click for help in using calendar displays. Print the contents of the current screen.
Display Month:

Advanced Search (New Search)
From:  From:
To:  To:
Category(s):
Location(s):
Keyword(s):
Submit
Event Details
Add this event to my personal calendar.
Go Back
Live Oak Reading Series – Featuring Ben Stroud
Start Date: 10/1/2013Start Time: 6:30 PM
End Date: 10/1/2013End Time: 7:30 PM
Event Description
Join the Department of English for the first Live Oak Reading Series event of the Fall semester, featuring Ben Stroud.

Stroud’s stories have appeared in Harper’s, One Story, Electric Literature, and Boston Review, among other magazines, and have been anthologized in New Stories from the South and Best American Mystery Stories. A native of Texas, he now lives in Ohio and teaches creative writing at the University of Toledo.

Stroud’s ambitious debut story collection, Byzantium, spans locales and time periods, and plumbs the depths of the imagination. In these stories, he is as adroit at recounting the feats of a black detective in Havana during the American Civil War or conveying the guilt of a noble in the Byzantine court as he is at rattling off the wisecracks of a college dropout or exploring the insecurities of a young boy on a fishing trip in present-day Texas. Byzantium offers readers an impressive cornucopia of voices, plotlines, and settings, each story more brilliant than the one before it. Fans of Jim Shepard and Steven Millhauser will want to take note of this exciting collection.

There will be a book signing after the reading, and Byzantium will be on sale at the event.

All are welcome, and admission is free.
Location Information:
Palko Hall, Amon G. Carter Lecture Hall, Room 130
Contact Information:
Phone: 817-257-7240

Calendar software powered by Active Data Calendar   
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Select item(s) to Search
Untitled Document
© 2012 TCU | 2800 S. University Dr., Fort Worth, Texas 76129 | 817.257.7000